Meetings and Events

All meetings are 2-5 pm on the third Sunday of the month, unless otherwise noted.

Meeting location (unless otherwise noted):

Rush Oak Park Hospital
Centennial Room
520 S. Maple Ave
Oak Park, IL 60304

Meetings almost always include time for show and tell, so please bring your latest creation!

2022 Event Schedule:
  • » Sunday, January 16: Member Trunk Show ++Virtual meeting via Zoom.++
  • Sunday, February 20, 2022: QuiltCon at Home 
  • Sunday, March 20, 2022: Quilt Olympics IV
  • » Sunday, April 10, 2022: Free-Motion Quilting for All ++Virtual meeting via Zoom.++
  • * Thursday, April 28-Sunday, May 1: In-Person Spring Retreat, Siena Center, Wisconsin
  • * Saturday, May 14, 2022: Audrey Esarey Workshop, 10:00-4:00 
  • Sunday, May 15, 2022: Guest speaker Audrey Esarey of Cotton and Bourbon
  • Saturday, June 18, 2022: Sew-In + Social + Swap
  • Sunday, July 17, 2022: Digital Design
  • » Sunday, July 31, 2022: In-Person Board Retreat 10 AM-12:30PM
  • Sunday, August 21, 2022: Potluck and Social
  • * Saturday, September 17, 2022: Steph Skardal Workshop
  • Sunday, September 18, 2022: Guest Speaker Steph Skardal
  • » Sunday, October 2, 2022: Virtual Board Meeting 5-7:00 PM
  • Sunday, October 16, 2022: TBD
  • Sunday, November 20, 2022: Small Gift Demos
  • Sunday, December 18, 2022: Holiday Gift Swap and Social

* Event requires pre-registration
» Indicates scheduled Board Meeting (12:30-1:45pm)

Workshops and retreats that are sponsored by the Chicago Modern Quilt Guild are open to all current guild members who have paid dues.  

Retreat Registration: Due to the high demand for spaces at retreats and a desire to be as fair as possible to everyone who wants to attend, a lottery system is used for registration. If there are more registered and paid participants than available spaces, a lottery will be held. Names of those members selected after the spaces have been filled will be put on a wait list in order of their selection. If the wait list is exhausted, registration will be reopened and may be extended to nonmembers.

Workshop Registration: Workshops are available through a first-come, first-served registration system. The date and time of registration opening will be announced to all members in advance, and then a hyperlink to a registration form will be emailed to members at the time that the sign-up opens. Once all spots for the workshop are filled, members will have the opportunity to be added to a wait list in case additional spots open later due to cancellations. It is up to members to notify the event coordinator (Programming Chair, Workshop, Retreat and Special Events Chair, or their designee) if they have to cancel. The coordinator will attempt to fill open spaces from the waitlist. If you cancel and the space is not filled, you will be responsible for the full cost of the workshop. If the wait list is exhausted, registration may reopen to nonmembers in addition to members.